Good Omens fic rec: it’s the light (it’s the obstacle that casts it) by Handful_of_Silence

Title: it’s the light (it’s the obstacle that casts it)

Author:

Ship: Crowley/Aziraphale, OMC/OMC

Wordcount: 5,783

URL:  https://archiveofourown.org/works/18320123

Summary:

It’s like having a curtain pulled back on something he wasn’t expecting to see. A surprise punch-and-judy at an up-scale restaurant, a lobster thermidor when he’s ordered an ale.

Crowley’s gleefully trying to wrap his head around the fact that Aziraphale is speaking Polari. Because of course he is.

Or: The Patron Saint of London’s LGBT Community is real, and he lives in Soho.

Why this fic is awesome:

I have been obsessed with, reading about and writing about lgbtq history for over a decade and I have never, ever come across such well-written renditions of spoken polari. This fic is just totally amazing and my cup just floweth over. The first time I went to London, walking to Foyles I suddenly realised how many sex shops we passed and then found my way to the catholic church of Soho which, back then, was the very epitome of a faded gorgeousnessness- gold tarnished by use, once buffed pews worn thin by knees. I suddenly realised where I was and I loved it. It made absolute sense for me that Aziraphale would set up there and even more sense that he would have all the palare and be this wonderful safe haven right where he should be for all of of the lgbtqia folk of London.

Bless him it makes me so happy. It’s like being in love reading this one, it is so very perfect.

Leave a comment